#MakeNine2019

My wanders down memory lane on the 1st of Jan, looking back at what I had actually planned – and managed to make – from my #MakeNine2018, has enthused me nicely for working out my Make Nine for the coming year.

I was a bit surprised to realise that (a) I have somehow, in an unconscious sort of way, managed to make most of last year’s Make Nine and (b) I feel inspired to plan out another Make Nine. Now just to explain, it wasn’t that I didn’t enjoy or feel the purpose of the Make Nine last year, but it just drifted off my radar a bit in the second half of the year, hence I’d wondered whether I would plan it out in such a formal way again this year.

But looking through my original post again (my recent reflections on this are here) I realised how much I enjoyed the reflective, purposive approach of #MakeNine, and that I would equally enjoy the thoughtfulness of planning a Make Nine again. That process of choosing makes that coordinate well, fill gaps in my wardrobe, provide a chance to develop a new skill or tackle a new challenge.

And so without further waffle, here is my #MakeNine2019:

The patterns are:

Row 1

Butterick 6497 – I want to make the short jacket version in some lovely grey leopard print wool mix coating I have ordered from Fabric Godmother

Liesl & Co Hollywood trousers – to be made first as a wearable toile in some checked / plaid fabric I have in my stash and then, once I have the fit sorted, I’d love a grey wool pair

Closet Case Sophie Swimsuit – I have the online course for this and the fabric waiting in my stash, I just need to sort out all the many notions needed for a swimsuit. Which is why I have had said online course and fabric for about six months already…

Row 2

Closet Case Ginger jeans with the flare extension – I made the Ginger jeans as part of my Make Nine 2018 and love them. Why mess with perfection?! Hence this year I want to channel a full 70s vibe and make a flared pair in a blue-tinged grey corduroy. Just need to find actual blue-tinged grey corduroy with the required touch of stretch

Papercut Sierra Jumpsuit – I loved the first two Papercut Patterns I tried (the Bellatrix Blazer and the Coppelia Cardy) and as soon as I saw the new Sierra jumpsuit I ordered it in the Black Friday sale. I want to make the short version, with my current thoughts being a pale / china blue linen. One for the summer then!

Athina Kakou Abi jumpsuit – seems I have a jumpsuit theme going on. I’m not sure what fabric I want for this yet, although I suspect navy will play a starring role.

Row 3

Orange Marlborough bra – this falls squarely in the “expanding my skills / challenging” category” referred to above. A bit like the Sophie swimsuit. In fact I’m hoping these two patterns will be complimentary so that making one will help with the other.

Style Arc Cindi jean jacket – I’m keen to make a jean jacket that suits my style, and I think this one ticks multiple boxes. Possibly in a pale pink, pale grey or white denim. Rocking my 80s inner child, then.

Designer Stitch Jenny dress – I love so many of the Named Kielo dresses I have seen people make but just haven’t been sure whether that exact pattern would suit me. I think the bust darts and woven fabric combo of this Jenny dress might work well for my shape, hence its place on my Make Nine. I’ve also realised over the last year how much I enjoy and instinctively choose dresses over separates. In my book they are instant, easy, stylish and coordinated outfits. No worrying if the top is the right length / flattering with / sits nicely over the skirt or trousers. A day dress definitely needed to be included on my Make Nine.

Now for the same problem I remember from last year – stopping at nine.

I certainly made more than nine things last year (understatement, I can hear my husband thinking). But the grid looks so nice and neat with just nine things. Not to mention the clue in the name Make Nine.

So I’m just going to drop a Supplementary Seven here and saunter away, whistling nonchalantly.

  • A certain pattern I’m about to pattern test from one of my favourite indie pattern companies
  • Designer Stitch Harper trousers, which look to me like something uber comfortable whilst still being fitting, flattering and would work with a lot of my wardrobe
  • Itch to Stitch Beausoleil top, as this looks lovely and I am utterly sold on cup sized patterns
  • Itch to Stitch Beausoleil dress – the eagle eyed amongst you will spot this is the same as the above. Only the dress view. Once I get the fit right for this pattern I know I will want a dress version as well as the top
  • Hålla Patterns Madeleine top, which looks like my perfect cowl neck top
  • Hålla Patterns Madeleine dress. See above for my comments on the Beausoleil top vs dress
  • Deer and Doe Belladone Dress. Or the Zépher dress. Or the Chataigne shorts. Basically, after making and massively loving the Lupin jacket in 2018, I’m definitely going to be making another Deer and Doe pattern this year
  • My Lupin jacket in navy faux leather from Girl Charlee, worn with my Freya dress from Tilly and the Buttons’ Stitch book

    Let’s see how I go, shall we?!

    Leave a comment